Magruder Hall


Welcome to the Department of Psychology at Mississippi State University. Here you can view the exciting research that is being conducted by our world class faculty and the rewarding opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students.

Mississippi State University is classified by the Carnegie Foundation as a doctoral university with higher research activity. In addition, we are a land grant institution. In line with this unique status in the state, our faculty is committed to educating and serving the people of Mississippi through advancement of the science and application of psychology.

Departmental News

Psychology at the Shackhouls Honors College Undergraduate Research Form

Psychology was well-represented at the Spring 2018 Shackhouls Honors College Undergraduate Research Forum, with several students taking home top prizes in the Social Sciences division.

Psi Chi Induction Ceremony Held

Psi Chi held its induction ceremony on Thursday, April 19th at 5:30 in the Colvard Student Union Ballroom U. Over 60 new Psychology majors were inducted into the honor society for Psychology. Some of them are pictured here.

Undergraduate Travel Research Awards Announced

Destiny Burns, Lily Hebert, Hemanth Nannapaneni, Geyong Won Jang, and AlliGrace Story (pictured from left to right) are the winners of the 2018 Psychology Undergraduate Travel Scholarships! Each student presented independent research at conferences this year. Congratulations!

Dr. Andrew Jarosz Featured in Harvard Business Review

Dr. Andrew Jarosz was recently featured in the Harvard Business Review about his research on alcohol and creativity. The link to the article is here.

Dr. Janet W. Kwan Defends Dissertation

Congratulations to Dr. Janet W. Kwan who successfully defended her dissertation titled "Parent and Child Perceived Coping Socialization During Peer Conflict: A Qualitative Study" on March 26th, 2018. She is pictured here with her committee Chair, Dr. Cliff McKinney (far right) and committee member, Dr. Michael Nadorff. Other committee members not pictured were Dr. Arazais Oliveros and Dr. Kristina Hood.

Lily Hebert Inducted into the Society of Scholars

Congratulations to Lily Hebert on being inducted into the Society of Scholars in a ceremony held on April 17, 2018. Lily is pursuing a dual major in English and Psychology with a minor in Linguistics. She is a member of the Shackhouls Honors College and is working on her Cursus Honorum. Lily was introduced by her Honors Thesis advisor, Dr. Deborah K. Eakin.

Dr. E. Samuel Winer named 2017 Association for Psychological Science Rising Star

The Department of Psychology proudly congratulates Dr. E. Samuel Winer on being named the 2017 Association for Psychological Science Rising Star. This prestigious early career honor recognizes "outstanding psychological scientists in the earliest stages of their research career post-PhD whose innovative work has already advanced the field and signals great potential for their continued contributions." The University released a press release about Dr. Winer's appointment that can be accessed at

Congratulations to Brittany Kinman on her dissertation defense!

Congratulations to Dr. Brittany A. Kinman who successfully defended her dissertation, entitled "Using the Health Belief Model to Identify Factors that Prevent Non-Prescription Stimulant Use", on Friday, December 8, 2017. She is pictured with her committee from left, Dr. Michael R. Nadorff, co-chair Dr. Kevin J. Armstrong, Dr. Kinman, co-chair Dr. Kristina B. Hood, and Dr. Cliff McKinney.

Clinical Doctoral Program Graduates First PhDs

Congratulations to the first four doctoral students to graduate from the Clinical doctoral program in the Department of Psychology at Mississippi State. Pictured from left to right are Dr. Destiny Peterson, Dr. Shea Golding, Dr. Mary Ward Black, and Dr. Christopher Webb.

More News Psychology Research Program (PRP)